Skip to main content

In the UK, education is compulsory for all children between the ages of 5 (4 in Northern Ireland) and 16.

In addition, the National Curriculum in England and Wales is constructed in five Key Stages:: 

1. Early years (under 5 year olds)

2. Primary education

  • Key Stage 1 - Foundation year and Years 1 to 2 - for pupils aged between 5 and 7 years old

  • Key Stage 2 - Years 3 to 6 - for pupils aged between 8 and 11 years old

3. Secondary education

  • Key Stage 3 - Years 7 to 9 - for pupils aged between 12 and 14 years old

  • Key Stage 4 - Years 10 to 11 - for pupils aged between 15 and 16 years old

4. Further Education (FE)

  • Key Stage 5 - Years 12 to 13 - for pupils aged between 17 and 18 years old

    5. Higher Education (HE)

    For more information and guidance on topics related to schools, education and learning, please explore the sections below:

    Choice of education

    Applying for a school place:
    School Admissions

    School performance

    School terms and holiday dates

    Breakfast and after school clubs

    Holiday clubs and playschemes

    Tax-Free Childcare

    Westminster libraries

    Resources to support
    children's learning at home

    Information on bullying

    School SEND Policies
    and information reports

    Early Years Conference - Friday 24th February 2023

    The Bi-borough Early Education and Childcare Service would like to invite you to the Early Years Conference: ‘EYFS…Read more

    Parent Community Group at Abbots Manor 24th Sep 2022

    LEYF is holding a Parent Community Group for families in need. The event will be held at LEYF Abbots Manor nursery and is…Read more

    Childcare survey - your views matter

    The council’s Early Education and Childcare Service would like to know about your experience finding and using…Read more